Masters Dissertation Award

The annual BALEAP Masters Dissertation Award aims to showcase and encourage Masters dissertations which make a significant contribution to the EAP field. The competition is open to colleagues worldwide who, during the academic year of the Award, have successfully completed an EAP-related dissertation at Masters level with a Distinction, A grade or a first.

The winner is awarded a sum of £250 and a guaranteed presenter's place at a BALEAP event.

Queries about the Award should be sent to

2013 Joint Winners

We are very pleased to announce the following joint winners of the 2013 Masters Dissertation Awards:

Daniel E Minshall. 'A Computer Science Word List.' Access Daniel's dissertation here [PDF]

Lisa Robinson. 'Allowing for Development in the EAP Post-observation Conference: Towards a flexible observation model.' Access Lisa's dissertation here [PDF]

2014 Award

Details of the 2014 Award will be available in early October 2014.

Award Flyer [View/Download]

Application Form DOC [Download]

The following information will be of use to those planning to enter the competetion:

Stage 1 Criteria

Stage 2 Criteria

Sample entry form 

Previous Award-winning Dissertations